Deactivating and Deleting Products

Have you discontinued a Product? Overwhelmed by too many choices? Here's how to tidy up your Product list.

What's the difference between deactivating and deleting?

Deactivating a Product allows you to remove the Product from your Product list - so it won't display as an option when adding an item to a Quote, Sales Order, or Invoice, while giving you the flexibility to reactivate the Product later if you need it.

Deactivated products stay out of the way - and they don't affect the speed of your account.

Deleting a Product removes the Product from your account entirely. Once you delete it, there is no way to recover it.

Deactivating a Product

To deactivate a Product, on the Products page, click the checkbox to the left of the Product name and click Deactivate selected in the upper right of the Products menu. Once complete, a message will display showing that the Product was successfully deactivated.

Deleting a Product

Once a Product has been deactivated, if the Product isn't being used in any Quotes, Sales Orders, or Invoices, it can be deleted.

To delete a Product, on the Products page, click the Active drop down in the upper right of the Products menu to change the view to Inactive Products.

On the Inactive Products page, click the checkbox to the left of the Product name and click Delete selected in the upper right of the Products menu. Once complete, a message will display showing that the Product was successfully deleted.

FAQs

When I try to delete a Product - I receive a message saying it's in use

As of now - if a Product has been used on a transaction - there is no way to delete it (unless the you remove every instance of the Product from every transaction.)

It is configured this way to protect the integrity of your sales data.

When Products are added to an Invoice, and the Invoice is synced with other programs such as QuickBooks, data like the Product name, Income account, Cost of Goods Sold account, and whether or not the item is taxable all get looked up by the Product - so if it that info wasn't there - it would potentially cause a big issue when it couldn't find those details for a given line item.

How helpful was this doc?

Powered by HelpDocs

Powered by HelpDocs